Weekly Update #1

If you are new to my blog welcome! If you were a reader of my old blog, welcome back!

I’m writing to you from  beautiful (so far, we only arrived a few hours ago!) Budapest, Hungary, where our team travelled to today for a training camp. We’re here for the next two weeks and will be accomplishing a ton of base work as we start to ramp up for the 2012-13 season.

But since this is a weekly update, I’ll be looking back at last week. This past week was a fairly relaxed one as we rested up for the travel to Budapest and the upcoming camp. And a good thing too! I finished up a hard block of training with a little trip out west to attend the marriage of two of my good friends and teammates, Gabby Waddell and Tyler Derraugh. It was a beautiful ceremony and an awesome reception followed. It was great to see some familiar faces from the years I spent in Calgary and celebrate Ty and Gabby’s special day with them.

Myself, Richard Shoebridge, Gilmore Junio and Liam Mcfarlane at the wedding ceremony

Now, having arrived in Budapest after a long travel day that went by surprisingly fast and essentially seamlessly (no lost bags, long layovers etc), I’m looking forward to the camp. I asked Derrick (Campbell, my coach) about what to expect for the next two weeks. He said that we should expect to cry on the inside and the outside. Hmmm…

One response to “Weekly Update #1

  1. haha hilarious prediction from your coach!

Leave a Reply

